Honours and Accolades



Dr. Jason Gilliand - Julian M. Szeicz Award Recipient - June 2009

Jason Gilliland, Associate Professor and Director of the Urban Development Program in the Department of Geography,  is this year's recipient of the Julian M. Szeicz award made by the Canadian Association of Geographers. Congratulations, Jason.


Jeremy Schmidt




Jeremy Schmidt - 2009 Trudeau Scholar


Patricia Connor - Recipient of the 2008 Western Award of Excellence

We're proud to have our very own Trish Connor among this year's recipients of the 3rd Annual Western Award of Excellence.   Not only is she the Director of the Cartographic Unit but she has served as our United Way Rep for an amazing 13 years.  Congratulations Trish!   [Western News]   [Award Ceremony]



Gordon McBean, professor in the departments of Geography and Political Science, is one of many co-recipients of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize, which was awarded to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Albert Arnold (Al) Gore Jr. "for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change". The awarding of the Peace Prize emphasizes the connection between a changing climate and issues of international peace and security.

Prof. McBean has been an active member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change since its inception in 1988. He was a lead author for the IPCC’s First Assessment Report (1990) and Second Assessments Report (1995) and a review editor for the Fourth Assessment Report (2007). We congratulate Prof. Mc Bean for his share of the Nobel Peace Prize, and for his ongoing efforts in raising awareness about climate change and its impacts.  [INFO]


Also from this web page: