Faculty

Full-Time Professors

  Name Contact Information Research Interest
Dan Shrubsole Dan Shrubsole
Professor and Chair
SSC 2322D
519 661‑3126
Ext: 83126 dashrubs@uwo.ca
Integrated resource management (water)

Web page
Godwin Arku Godwin Arku
Associate Professor
SSC 2427
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85343
garku@uwo.ca
Housing and economic development; Urban development and policy analysis; Regional and local economic development policy and planning;  Third World development issues (esp. Africa)
Web page
Peter Ashmore Peter Ashmore
Professor
SSC 1405
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85026
pashmore@uwo.ca
Fluvial geomorphology, sediment transport

Web page

Jamie Baxter Jamie Baxter
Associate Professor
SSC 1407
519 661-2111
Ext: 81241
jamie.baxter@uwo.ca
Environmental risks from hazards, community responses to hazards, health, noxious facility siting, and methodology

Web page
Brian Branfireun Brian Branfireun
Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair

Cross Appointment with Biology and Earth Sciences
BGS 3028
519 661-2111
Ext: 89221
bbranfir@uwo.ca
Eco hydrology, biogeochemistry, and wetland ecosystem science

Web page
Michael Buzzelli Michael Buzzelli
Associate Professor and Graduate Chair
 
SSC 2429
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85329
mbuzzel@uwo.ca
Health, Urban, GIS

Web page
Irena Creed Irena Creed
Professor
Canada Research Chair

Cross Appointment with Biology
B&GS 3023
519 661‑2111
Ext: 84265
icreed@uwo.ca
Watersheds, forests, hydrology, biochemistry, GIS and remote sensing

Web page
Belinda Dodson Belinda Dodson
Associate Professor
SSC 2413
519 661‑2111
Ext: 87319
bdodson@uwo.ca
Migration, gender, international development, Southern Africa.

Web page
Rick Fehr Rick Fehr
Assistant Professor

Cross Appointment with First Nations Studies
SSC 3255

519 661‑2111
Ext: 88570
rfehr@uwo.ca

Nineteenth century historical relations between Canada and First Nations peoples in Southwestern Ontario 

Web page
Jason Gilliland Jason Gilliland
Associate Professor and Director, Urban Development Program

 

Cross Appointment with School of Health Studies and the Department of Paediatrics
SSC 1403
519 661‑2111
Ext: 81239
jgillila@uwo.ca
Urban studies, health geography, children's environments, GIS

Web page
Milford Green Milford Green
Professor
SSC 2415
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85025
mbgreen@uwo.ca
Foreign direct investment mergers

Web page
Jeff Hopkins Jeff Hopkins
Associate Professor
SSC 2423
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85027
jhopkins@uwo.ca
Cultural geography, gender, public places

Web page
Carol Hunsberger Carol Hunsberger
Assistant Professor
SSC 2409
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85020
chunsber@uwo.ca
Political ecology, biofuels, East Africa

Web page
Isaac Luginaah Isaac Luginaah Professor
Canada Research Chair
SSC 1409
519 661‑2111
Ext: 86944
iluginaa@uwo.ca
Environment and health, air pollution, GIS and health, HIV/AIDS

Web page
Jacek Malczewski Jacek Malczewski
Professor
SSC 2422
519 661-2111
Ext: 85030
jmalczew@uwo.ca
Quantitative methods, location analysis, GIS

Web page
Gordon McBean Gordon McBean
FRSC and Professor

 

Cross Appointment with Political Science

SSC 2431
519 661-2111
Ext: 84274 or 86036
gmcbean@uwo.ca
Climate change science and policy, natural hazards-prediction and mitigation, weither and environmental prediction systems

Web page
Diana Mok Diana Mok
Asassociate Professor

Joint Appointment with
DAN Management Organizational Studies
SSC 4426
519 661‑2111
Ext: 86368
dmok3@uwo.ca
Urban economic geography, real estate economics, GIS and quantitative methods

Web page
Desmond Moser Desmond Moser
Associate Professor

Joint Appointment with Earth Sciences
B&GS 167
519 661‑2111
Ext: 84214
dmoser22@uwo.ca
Tectonics, geochronology

 

Web page
Katrina Moser Katrina Moser
Associate Professor
SSC 2407
519 661‑2111
Ext: 80115
kmoser@uwo.ca
Paleolimnology, climate change, paleoecology, quaternary environments, water quantity and quality, limnology

Web page

Micha Pazner Micha Pazner
Associate Professor
SSC 1416
519 661‑2111
Ext: 81469
pazner@uwo.ca
GIS, image processing, cartography

Web page
Chantelle Richmond Chantelle Richmond

Associate Professor

Cross Appointment with First Nations Studies

SSC 2433
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85324
chantelle.richmond@uwo.ca
On Sabbatical - July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016 
Aboriginal health, social determinants of health, social support, health impacts of environmental change, community-based research, mixed methods


Web page

Chris Smart Chris Smart
Professor
SSC 1402
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85007
csmart@uwo.ca
Hydrology and geomorphology

Web page
Graham Smith Graham Smith
Associate Professor
SSC 2405
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85011
lgsmith@uwo.ca
Sustainable globalization, capacity building & individual empowerment in the implementation of sustainability, dynamism as an approach to environmental change, & inquiry-based learning

Web page
Phil Stooke Phil Stooke
Associate Professor

Cross Appointment with Physics and Astronomy
SSC 2425
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85022
pjstooke@uwo.ca
Planetary mapping and space exploration

Web page
James Voogt James Voogt
Associate Professor
SSC 2401
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85018
javoogt@uwo.ca
Urban climatology

Web page
Jinfei Wang Jinfei Wang
Professor
SSC 2402
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85017
jfwang@uwo.ca
Remote sensing and GIS

Web page
Tony Weis Tony Weis
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Chair
SSC 2314
519 661‑2111
Ext: 87472
aweis@uwo.ca
Globalization & agriculture, political ecology, land reform & social movements, environmental conservation in inequitable landscapes

Web page
Adam Yates Adam Yates
Assistant Professor
SSC 2403
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85008

adam.yates@uwo.ca
Aquatic Ecosystems in Populated Landscapes; Development and Application of Ecological Assessment Methods for Aquatic Ecosystems; Watershed Description and Analysis

Web page

Part-Time Faculty

  Name Contact Information Research Interest/Geography Teaching Responsibilities
Wendy Dickinson
Assistant Professor
WSS 410
519-661-2111
Ext: 82828
wendyd@sdc.uwo.ca
Geography 2011B:  Ontario and The Great Lakes
Rick Fehr Rick Fehr
Assistant Professor

Cross Appointment with First Nations Studies
SSC 3207
519-661-2111
Ext: 88570
rfehr@uwo.ca

Geography 2411G: Indigenous Environments
Web page
Mireya Folch-Serra
Associate Professor
SSC 2420
519 661-2111
Ext: 85021
folch@uwo.ca
Geography 2050B: The Geography of Western Europe
Web page
Clare Gordon
Assistant Professor
SSC 2223
cgordon@uwo.ca
Geography 2041G: Geography of China
Kim Holland
Kim Holland
Lecturer

SSC 2221
519 661‑2111
Ext: 82829
kholland@uwo.ca

Geography 1100: Fundamentals of Geography
Mark Moscicki Mark Moscicki
Lecturer
SSC 2223
mmoscic@uwo.ca

Geography 2010B: Geography of Canada
Geography 2152G: Geography of Hazards

Hanson Nyantakti-Frimpong Hanson Nyantakyi-Frimpong SSC 2223

hnyantak@uwo.ca

Geography 2030B: Geography of Sub-Saharan Africa
Jane Bowles Sergio Pompilii
Lecturer
SSC 2221
519 661-2111
Ext: 82828
spompili@uwo.ca
Geography 2162A: Planning Sustainable Cities (Formerly Introduction to Urban and Regional Planning)
Gabor Sass Gabor Sass
Assistant Professor
SSC 2221 / BGS 3025
gabor.sass@uwo.ca
Geography 2220B: Geographic Information Science 1

Adjunct Faculty

  Name Contact Information Research Interest
Robert Bailey

Bob Bailey
Adjunct Professor

robert_bailey@cbu.ca Bioassessment of aquatic ecosystems, from the values and objectives that lead to initiation of a program, to its design, execution and interpretation of the information collected that leads to action
Rachel Bezner Kerr

Rachel Bezner Kerr
Adjunct Research Professor

rnb5@cornell.edu Globalization, agriculture and food; food security/food sovereignty; participatory research; sustainable agriculture; maternal and child nutrition; HIV/AIDS and food security; knowledge, science and participatory educational methods; Malawi; colonial history in southern Africa  [Western] [Cornell]
Marco Van De Wiel

Marco Van De Wiel
Adjunct Professor

Coventry University, UK Computational geomorphology, fluvial geomorphology, landscape evolution modelling
Colin Williams

Colin H. Williams
Adjunct Professor

Cardiff University, UK
williamsch@cardiff.ac.uk
Ethnic relations, political geography, geolinguistics, comparative international law and minority rights, political philosophy and multiculturalism
Web page

Professors Emeriti and Long Service Faculty

  Name Contact Information Research Interest

Elaine Bjorklund

Chicago, 1955
embjork@rogers.com
Cultural Studies, Urban Regions, China's Modernization and Behavioural Geography

Richard Butler

Glasgow, 1973 r.butler2@btinternet.com

Don Cartwright

Western Ontario, 1973
dgcartwr@uwo.ca
Robert Cecil McGill, 1973
rgcecil@uwo.ca

Bill Code

California (Berkeley), 1971
wcode@uwo.ca

Mireya Folch Serra

Queen's, 1990
folch@uwo.ca
Consequences and effects of 40 years of dictatorship on Spain's cultural and natural landscape

Web page

Suzanne Greaves

Assistant Professor 

SSC 1412
519 661-2111
Ext: 85028

greaves@uwo.ca
  Don Janelle Michigan State, 1966
janelle@geog.ucsb.edu
 

Roger King

 

Saskatchewan, 1969
king@uwo.ca
Brian LuckmanBrian Luckman SSC 1420
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85012
luckman@uwo.ca
Geomorphology, dendrochronology

Web page
  Robert McDaniel Western, 1954
mcdaniel@uwo.ca
Joy Parr Joy Parr
Professor and Canada Research Chair
jparr@uwo.ca The historically specific sensing body; the influences of large scale technologies on their neighbours; chemical, radiological and microbiological contamination in landscapes and workplaces; social and cultural responses to power generation; ergonomic design in manufactured goods
 

Web page

Visiting Professors and Post-doctoral Researchers

  Name Contact Information Research Interest
Andrew Clark Dr. Andrew Clark
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2206
aclark2@uwo.ca
Understanding how the individual, social, and built environments influence the ability to live a healthy and active lifestyle
Web page
Dr. Pauline Leduc
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2415
pleduc3@uwo.ca
Grain sorting and texture analysis in gravel rivers
Hanson Nyantakti-Frimpong Dr. Hanson Nyantakyi-Frimpong SSC 2223

hnyantak@uwo.ca

 
Dr. Stephane Rodrigues SSC 2304
srodri59@uwo.ca
 
Dr. Matilde Welber
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2312
mwelber@uwo.ca
Natural Science & Engin Research
Dr. Coraline Winterberger SSC 2304