Faculty

Full-Time Professors

  Name Contact Information Research Interest
Dan Shrubsole Dan Shrubsole
Professor and Chair
SSC 2322D
519 661‑3126
Ext: 83126 dashrubs@uwo.ca
Integrated resource management (water)

Web page
Godwin Arku Godwin Arku
Associate Professor
SSC 2427
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85343
garku@uwo.ca
Housing and economic development; Urban development and policy analysis; Regional and local economic development policy and planning;  Third World development issues (esp. Africa)
Web page
On sabbatical: July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014
Peter Ashmore Peter Ashmore
Professor
SSC 1405
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85026
pashmore@uwo.ca
Fluvial geomorphology, sediment transport

Web page

Jamie Baxter Jamie Baxter
Associate Professor
SSC 1407
519 661-2111
Ext: 81241
jamie.baxter@uwo.ca
Environmental risks from hazards, community responses to hazards, health, noxious facility siting, and methodology

Web page
Brian Branfireun Brian Branfireun
Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair

Cross Appointment with Biology and Earth Sciences
BGS 3028
519 661-2111
Ext: 89221
bbranfir@uwo.ca
Ecohydrology, biogeochemistry, and wetland ecosystem science

Web page
Michael Buzzelli Michael Buzzelli
Associate Professor
 
SSC 2429
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85329
michael.buzzelli@uwo.ca
Health, Urban, GIS

Web page
Irena Creed Irena Creed
Professor
Canada Research Chair

Cross Appointment with Biology
B&GS 3023
519 661‑2111
Ext: 84265
icreed@uwo.ca
Watersheds, forests, hydrology, biochemistry, GIS and remote sensing

Web page
Belinda Dodson Belinda Dodson
Associate Professor
SSC 2413
519 661‑2111
Ext: 87319
bdodson@uwo.ca
Migration, gender, international development, Southern Africa.

Web page
Rick Fehr Rick Fehr
Assistant Professor

Cross Appointment with First Nations Studies
SSC 3255

519 661‑2111
Ext: 88570
rfehr@uwo.ca

Nineteenth century historical relations between Canada and First Nations peoples in Southwestern Ontario 

Web page
Jason Gilliland Jason Gilliland
Associate Professor and Director, Urban Development Program

 

Cross Appointment with School of Health Studies and the Department of Paediatrics
SSC 1403
519 661‑2111
Ext: 81239
jgillila@uwo.ca
Urban studies, health geography, children's environments, GIS

Web page
Suzanne Greaves Suzanne Greaves
Assistant Professor
SSC 1412
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85028
greaves@uwo.ca
 
Milford Green Milford Green
Professor
SSC 2415
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85025
mbgreen@uwo.ca
Foreign direct investment mergers

Web page
Jeff Hopkins Jeff Hopkins
Associate Professor
SSC 2423
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85027
jhopkins@uwo.ca
Cultural geography, gender, public places

Web page
Carol Hunsberger Carol Hunsberger
Assistant Professor
SSC 2409
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85020
chunsber@uwo.ca
Political ecology, biofuels, East Africa

Web page
Isaac Luginaah Isaac Luginaah
Associate Professor
Canada Research Chair
SSC 1409
519 661‑2111
Ext: 86944
iluginaa@uwo.ca
Environment and health, air pollution, GIS and health, HIV/AIDS

Web page
Jacek Malczewski Jacek Malczewski
Professor
SSC 2422
519 661-2111
Ext: 85030
jmalczew@uwo.ca
Quantitative methods, location analysis, GIS

Web page
Gordon McBean Gordon McBean
FRSC and Professor

 

Cross Appointment with Political Science

SSC 2431
519 661-2111
Ext: 84274 or 86036
gmcbean@uwo.ca
Climate change science and policy, natural hazards-prediction and mitigation, weather and environmental prediction systems

Web page
Diana Mok Diana Mok
Associate Professor

Joint Appointment with
DAN Management Organizational Studies
SSC 4426
519 661‑2111
Ext: 86368
dmok3@uwo.ca
Urban economic geography, real estate economics, GIS and quantitative methods

Web page
Desmond Moser Desmond Moser
Associate Professor

Joint Appointment with Earth Sciences
B&GS 167
519 661‑2111
Ext: 84214
dmoser22@uwo.ca
Tectonics, geochronology

 

Web page
Katrina Moser Katrina Moser
Associate Professor and Graduate Chair
SSC 2407
519 661‑2111
Ext: 80115
kmoser@uwo.ca
Paleolimnology, climate change, paleoecology, quaternary environments, water quantity and quality, limnology

Web page

Joy Parr Joy Parr
Professor and Canada Research Chair
SSC 2432
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85328
jparr@uwo.ca
The historically specific sensing body; the influences of large scale technologies on their neighbours; chemical, radiological and microbiological contamination in landscapes and workplaces; social and cultural responses to power generation; ergonomic design in manufactured goods
 

Web page

Micha Pazner Micha Pazner
Associate Professor
SSC 1416
519 661‑2111
Ext: 81469
pazner@uwo.ca
GIS, image processing, cartography

Web page
Chantelle Richmond Chantelle Richmond

Assistant Professor

Cross Appointment with First Nations Studies

SSC 2433
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85324
chantelle.richmond@uwo.ca
Aboriginal health, social determinants of health, social support, health impacts of environmental change, community-based research, mixed methods


Web page

Chris Smart Chris Smart
Professor
SSC 1402
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85007
csmart@uwo.ca
Hydrology and geomorphology

Web page
Graham Smith Graham Smith
Associate Professor
SSC 2405
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85011
lgsmith@uwo.ca
Sustainable globalization, capacity building & individual empowerment in the implementation of sustainability, dynamism as an approach to environmental change, & inquiry-based learning

Web page
Phil Stooke Phil Stooke
Associate Professor

Cross Appointment with Physics and Astronomy
SSC 2425
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85022
pjstooke@uwo.ca
Planetary mapping and space exploration

Web page
Marco Van De Wiel Marco Van de Wiel
Associate Professor
SSC 2412
519 661‑2111
Ext: 80161
mvandew3@uwo.ca
Computational geomorphology, fluvial geomorphology, landscape evolution modelling

Web page
James Voogt James Voogt
Associate Professor
SSC 2401
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85018
javoogt@uwo.ca
Urban climatology

Web page
Jinfei Wang Jinfei Wang
Professor
SSC 2402
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85017
jfwang@uwo.ca
Remote sensing and GIS

Web page
Tony Weis Tony Weis
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Chair
SSC 2314
519 661‑2111
Ext: 87472
aweis@uwo.ca
Globalization & agriculture, political ecology, land reform & social movements, environmental conservation in inequitable landscapes

Web page
Adam Yates Adam Yates
Assistant Professor
SSC 2403
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85008

adam.yates@uwo.ca
Aquatic Ecosystems in Populated Landscapes; Development and Application of Ecological Assessment Methods for Aquatic Ecosystems; Watershed Description and Analysis

Web page

Part-Time and Adjunct Professors

  Name Contact Information Research Interest/Geography Teaching Responsibilities
Jane Bowles Abednego Aryee
Lecturer
aaryee@uwo.ca Geography 3441G: Conservation & Devepment
EnvrSust 9012: Pillars of Environment & Sustainability-Planning and Management
Idowu Ajibade Dr. Idowu Ajibade
Assistant Professor
SSC 2215
iajibad@uwo.ca
Geography 2030B: Africa South of the Sahara
Robert Bailey Bob Bailey
Adjunct Professor
robert_bailey@cbu.ca Bioassessment of aquatic ecosystems, from the values and objectives that lead to initiation of a program, to its design, execution and interpretation of the information collected that leads to action. 
Rachel Bezner Kerr Rachel Bezner Kerr
Adjunct Research Professor
rnb5@cornell.edu Globalization, agriculture and food; food security/food sovereignty; participatory research; sustainable agriculture; maternal and child nutrition; HIV/AIDS and food security; knowledge, science and participatory educational methods; Malawi; colonial history in southern Africa.  [Western] [Cornell]
Wendy Dickinson
Assistant Professor
UCC 210
519-661-2111
Ext: 88616
wendyd@sdc.uwo.ca
Geography 2011A/B:  Ontario and The Great Lakes
Steve EvansSteve Evans
Lecturer

SSC 2221
Ext: 80084
sevans4@uwo.ca

Geography 3462F:  Land Use Planning
Mireya Folch-Serra
Associate Professor
SSC 2420
519 661-2111
Ext: 85021
folch@uwo.ca
Geography 2050B: Western Europe

Geography 2142B: Geopolitics

[WEBSITE]

Clare Gordon
Assistant Professor
SSC 2223
cgordon@uwo.ca
Geography 2040A: Geography of East and Southeast Asia
Geography  2041G:  Geography of China
Kim HollandKim Holland
Lecturer
Weldon Library 122
519 661‑2111
Ext: 84612
kholland@uwo.ca
Geography 1100: Fundamentals of Geography
John KovacsJohn Kovacs
Adjunct Professor
Nipissing University
Dept of Geography and Environment

johnmk@nipissingu.ca

Remote Sensing, Coastal Forested Wetlands

[WEBSITE]
Sandra Kulon Sandra Kulon
Lecturer
SSC 1410
519-661-2111
Ext: 80963
skulon2@uwo.ca
Geography 2220A / B: GIS I

[WEBSITE]
Don Lafreniere Don Lafreniere
Lecturer
SSC 2221
dlafren2@uwo.ca
Geography 1400G: People, Places, and Landscapes

[website]
Greg Levine Greg Levine, LLB
Assistant Professor
glevine@uwo.ca Geography 3415B: Geographic Perspectives on Law and Society
Mark Moscicki Mark Moscicki
Lecturer
SSC 2223
mmoscic@uwo.ca
Geography 2010A: Geography of Canada
Geography 2152F/G: Geography of Hazards
Sergio Pompilii
Lecturer
sergio@sepompilii.on.ca Geography 2162B: Introduction to Urban and Regional Planning
Liam Riley Liam Riley
Assistant Professor
Geography 2060B: World Cities
Karen Ross Karen Ross
Lecturer
kross44@uwo.ca Geography 2020B: Latin America & The Caribbean
Richard Sadler Richard Sadler
Assistant Professor
SSC 2210
rsadler4@uwo.ca
Geography 2460G: Urban Development

[WEBSITE]
Gabor Sass Gabor Sass
Assistant Professor
SSC 2221 / BGS 3025
gabor.sass@uwo.ca
Geography 2320A: Introductory Biogeography
Joe Shaw, MBA
Lecturer
  Geography 3464F: Muncipal Feasibility of Urban Development
Arja Vainio‑Mattila
Adjunct Professor
Huron University College A7
519 438‑7224
Ext: 205
avainiom@uwo.ca
Community based natural resource management, participatory development, gender issues, poverty reduction, "community" in a developing urban context, international development praxis and theory, Africa, China, South and South-East Asia
Colin WilliamsColin H. Williams
Adjunct Professor
Cardiff University, UK
williamsch@cardiff.ac.uk

Ethnic relations, political geography, geolinguistics, comparative international law and minority rights, political philosophy and multiculturalism. [Web page]

Professors Emeriti

  Name Contact Information Research Interest

Elaine Bjorklund

Chicago, 1955
embjork@rogers.com

Richard Butler

Glasgow, 1973 r.butler2@btinternet.com

Don Cartwright

Western Ontario, 1973
dgcartwr@uwo.ca
Robert Cecil McGill, 1973
rgcecil@uwo.ca

Bill Code

California (Berkeley), 1971
wcode@uwo.ca

Mireya Folch Serra

Queen's, 1990
folch@uwo.ca
Consequences and effects of 40 years of dictatorship on Spain's cultural and natural landscape

Web page

Don Janelle

Michigan State, 1966
janelle@geog.ucsb.edu

Roger King

 

Saskatchewan, 1969
king@uwo.ca
Brian LuckmanBrian Luckman SSC 1420
519 661‑2111
Ext: 85012
luckman@uwo.ca
Geomorphology, dendrochronology

Web page

Robert McDaniel

 

Western, 1954
mcdaniel@uwo.ca

Visiting Professors and Post-doctoral Researchers

  Name Contact Information Research Interest
Idowu Ajibade Dr. Idowu Ajibade
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2215
iajibad@uwo.ca
Human rights law and climate change; international development, gender, urban governance; political ecology; equity issues in climate change adaptation
Andrew Clark Dr. Andrew Clark
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2206
aclark2@uwo.ca
Understanding how the individual, social, and built environments influence the ability to live a healthy and active lifestyle [WEBSITE]
Dr. Pauline Leduc
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2415
pleduc3@uwo.ca
 
Richard Sadler Dr. Richard Sadler
Post Doctoral Fellow
SSC 2210
rsadler4@uwo.ca
Land use planning tools and policies to address social inequality, improve health, and strengthen local economies [WEBSITE]
Hannah Neufeld Dr. Hannah Tait Neufeld
Post Doctoral Fellow
Banting Scholar
SSC 3107
hneufel2@uwo.ca
X89310
Health inequities and community engagement in First Nation Communities [WEBSITE]