Western University GeographyWestern Social Science

PhD Student Directory

Armin Ahmadi

FULL NAME

Email: aahma2@uwo.ca SSC Room 2250

Research Interests
Transit Network Design Using Multi-objective Metaheuristic Methods; Case Study of Sanandaj
(Malczewski)


Roger Antabe

antabe

Email: rantabe@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
Health geography
(Luginaah)


Kilian Atuoye

atuoye

Email: katuoye@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
Large-scale land acquisitions in Tanzania: Qualifying the food security and human health impacts
(Luginaah)


Dominica Babicki

armah

Email: dbabicki@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
Eco-districts and energy consumption
(Baxter)


Kayla Baumgartner

baumgartner

Email: kbaumga2@uwo.ca SSC Room 2233

Research Interests
Queer migrant women in South Africa
(Dodson)


Daniel Bednar

bednar

Email: dbednar@uwo.ca SSC Room 2410
Website

Research Interests
Coordination and early policy stages in climate adaptation: Explaining and comparing efforts within Manitoba and Ontario
(McBean/Shrubsole)


Alexandra Bozheva

bergman

Email: abozheva@uwo.ca SSC Room 2434

Research Interests
Canada's migration management framework: Attraction and retention outcomes of ISM
(Dodson)


Brenton Button

FULL NAME

Email: bbutton3@uwo.ca SSC Room 2333

Research Interests
Examining the influences of Canadian children's physical activity patterns/levels
(Gilliland)


Merlin Chatwin

FULL NAME

Email: mchatwin@uwo.ca SSC Room 2436

Research Interests
Urbanization
(Arku)


Evan Cleave

baumgartner

Email: ecleave2@uwo.ca SSC Room 2436

Research Interests
Examining the effectiveness of place branding on migrants, talent, and business attraction
(Arku)


David Crenna

crenna

Email: ccrenna@uwo.ca

Research Interests
The politics of where: The federal government and Canada's urbanization, 1867-2017?
(Buzzelli)


Riley Dillon

baumgartner

Email: rdillon@uwo.ca SSC Room 2233

Research Interests
(Dodson)


Rebecca Doyle

FULL NAME

Email: rdoyle25@uwo.ca SSC Room 1430

Research Interests
Paleolimnology using compound-specific isotopic analysis
(Moser/Longstaffe)


Oscar E-Senar

FULL NAME

Email: oesenar@uwo.ca SSC Room 2304

Research Interests
Brown new world: Effects of dissolved organic matter in lake food webs
(Creed)


Rebecca Ellis

FULL NAME

Email: rellis23@uwo.ca SSC Room 2310

Research Interests
Attitudes, practices and policies that affect urban bees
(Weis)


Boyu Feng

bergman

Email: bfeng24@uwo.ca SSC Room 2434

Research Interests
Urban feature extraction using hyperspectral and LiDAR data in Canadian cities
(Wang)


Cindy Graeme

bergman

Email: csmithe3@uwo.ca SSC Room 3107

Research Interests
Rekindling the flame: An exploration of the relationship between health, place and identity among First Nations male youth in London, Ontario
(Richmond)


Martin Healy

bergman

Email: mhealy2@uwo.ca SSC Room 2333

Research Interests
Putting children on the map: Use of GIS to provide a better understanding of the relationship of childhood health conditions to socioeconomic and environmental factors
(Gilliland)


Hossein Hosseini

bergman

Email: hhossei7@uwo.ca SSC Room 2235

Research Interests
Integrating geostimulation and multicriteria decision analysis for modeling urban growth: A case study of Teheran, Iran
(Malczewski)


Erin Huner

bergman

Email: ehuner@uwo.ca

Research Interests
(Parr/White)


Lucia Hussey

bergman

Email: lhussey3@uwo.ca SSC Room 2436

Research Interests
Multicriteria evaluation approach to climate change - infectious disease linkages in Ghana
(Arku)


Moses Kansanga

FULL NAME

Email: mkansang@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
Environment and health
(Luginaah)


Wes Kinghorn

bergman

Email: wkinghor@uwo.ca SSC Room 2310

Research Interests
The place making processes underlying the creation, perpetuation and management of Heritage Conservation Districts
(Hopkins)


Edward Krynak

bergman

Email: ekrynak@uwo.ca SSC Room 2404

Research Interests
Benthic invert body size spectrum in Ag dominated streams
(Yates/Branfireun)


Emmanuel Kyeremeh

FULL NAME

Email: ekyereme@uwo.ca SSC Room 2436

Research Interests
Integration of African Immigrants in Canada
(Arku)


Martin Lefebvre

lefebvre

Email: mlefebv8@uwo.ca SSC Room 2417

Research Interests
Geography of institutional investment in Canada and around the world from 2000-2015
(Green)


Chunhua Liao

liao

Email: cliao33@uwo.ca SSC Room 2434

Research Interests
Crop monitoring and annual NPP estimation using multi-source remote sensing data in Southwestern Ontario, Canada
(Wang)


John MacKenzie

FULL NAME

Email: jmacke32@uwo.ca SSC Room 2417

Research Interests
Religious Geography
(Hopkins)


Ashley Manning

manning

Email: amannin6@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
The role of community-led approaches in addressing food sovereignity concerns in rural and urban Newfoundland and Labrador
(Baxter)


Sarah Mason

mason

Email: smason27@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424
Website

Research Interests
Emerging views of rural landscapes in Ontario: A case study of the siting of a regional biosolid processing facility in Southgate Township
(Luginaah)


Grant Morin

Grant Morin

Email: gmorin5@uwo.ca SSC Room 2250

Research Interests
The analysis of the Canadian entertainment software
(Green)


Lydia Osei

osie

Email: losei3@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
Poverty, unemployment and youth empowerment in African mining communities: The case of Ghana
(Arku/Luginaah)


Kristin Painter

FULL NAME

Email: kpainte3@uwo.ca SSC Room 2404

Research Interests
Stream ecology
(Yates)


Heather Peacock

none

Email: hpeacock@uwo.ca SSC Room 2410

Research Interests
A global GIS analysis of primate diversity and biogeography: Assessing trends in habitat loss and extinction risk to inform primate conservation biology
(Weis/Colqhoun)


Nolan Pearce

Nolan Pearce

Email: npearce7@uwo.ca SSC Room 2404

Research Interests
Ecological Effects of Nutrient Pulses in Great Lakes Tributaries
(Yates)


Sarah Peirce

peirce

Email: speirce@uwo.ca SSC Room 2310
Website

Research Interests
Characterization of the active width in gravel-bed braided rivers
(Ashmore)


Yvonne Rollins

rollins

Email: yrollins@uwo.ca Website
Re WaRP Project

Research Interests
Realising waste's resource potential: Explaining uneven uptake of waste to energy technologies by Ontario municipalities
(Baxter)


Fatih Sekercioglu

sekercioglu

Email: msekerci@uwo.ca SSC Room 2410

Research Interests
Ontario’s Small Non-community Drinking Water Systems: Risk Perception and Communication Relating to Drinking Water Safety
(Shrubsole/White)


Luis Silva

silva

Email: lsilvaji@uwo.ca SSC Room 2235

Research Interests
A shift from government to governance: Integrated water resource management in the Lerma-Chapala Basin, Mexico
(Shrubsole)


Yang Song

FULL NAME

Email: ysong24@uwo.ca SSC Room 2434

Research Interests
The application of polarimetric SAR on the monitoring of plant nitrate and moisture
(Wang)


Paul van der Werf

none

Email: pvande2@uwo.ca SSC Room 2333

Research Interests
Food waste reduction
(Gilliland)


Siera Vercillo

none

Email: svercill@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424

Research Interests
Gender, farming and food in northern Ghana
(Luginaah/Weis)


Chad Walker

walker

Email: cwalke26@uwo.ca SSC Room 1424
Website

Research Interests
Wind energy development processes and community-level impacts in Ontario and Nova Scotia, Canada
(Baxter)