Graduate Students

PhD Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Ellena Andoniou Ellena Andoniou
eandonio@uwo.ca HIV Aids in Nigeria
(Luginaah)
Frederick Armah Frederick Armah Room 1424, SSC

farmah@uwo.ca

Environment and Human Health in the Anthropocene: Interactions between the Natural Environment and Social Systems in Coastal Tanzania
(Luginaah)

website
Riley Dillon Kayla Baumgartner kbaumga2@uwo.ca (Dodson)
Daniel Bednar Daniel Bednar Room 2410, SSC

dbednar@uwo.ca

Coordination and Early Policy Stages in Climate Adaptation: Explaining and Comparing Efforts within Manitoba and Ontario
(McBean/Shrubsole)

website
Nathaniel Bergman Nathaniel Bergman Room 2304, SSC

nbergma@uwo.ca

Channel morphology, channel sedimentology and hydraulic modeling in a formerly glaciated terrain
(Van de Wiel/Hicock)

website
Alexandra Bozheva Alexandra Bozheva Room 2434, SSC
abozheva@uwo.ca
(Dodson)
David Crenna David Crenna
ccrenna@uwo.ca The Urban Geography of Political Decisions:  The Federal Government and Canada's Urbanization, 1871-2011
(Buzzelli)
Riley Dillon Riley Dillon Room 2248, SSC

rdillon@uwo.ca

(Dodson)
Cindy Graeme Cindy Graeme Room 3107, SSC
csmithe3@uwo.ca
Rekindling the Flame: An Exploration of the Relationship between Health, Place and Identity among First Nations Male Youth in London, Ontario
(Richmond)
Jane Hammond Jane Hammond Room 1432, SSC
jhammo7@uwo.ca
(Hopkins)
Martin Healy Martin Healy
Room 1411, SSC mhealy2@uwo.ca Putting Children on the Map - use of GISci to provide a better understanding of the relationship of childhood health conditions to socioeconomic and environmental factors
(Gilliland)
Chris Hewitt Chris Hewitt
Room 2250, SSC
chewitt4@uwo.ca
The Battle of Hastings: A Geographic Perspective
(Stooke/Gervers)

website
Hossein Hosseini Hossein Hosseini Room 2436, SSC
hhossei7@uwo.ca
GIS-OWA for Cellular Automata and Agent-based Modeling
(Malczewski)
Xiaodong Huang Xiaodong Huang Room 2430, SSC
xhuan33@uwo.ca
Agricultural Information Extraction from Polarimetric SAR
(Wang)
Erin Huner ehuner@uwo.ca (Parr/White)
Fatemeh Khajehvarnamkhsti Fatemeh Khajehvarnamkhsti Room 2254, SSC
fkhajehv@uwo.ca
(Malczewski)
Wes Kinghorn Wes Kinghorn Room 2310, SSC
wkinghor@uwo.ca
The place making processes underlying the creation, perpetuation and management of Heritage Conservation Districts
(Hopkins)
Edward Krynak Edward Krynak Room 2435, SSC
ekrynak@uwo.ca
(Yates/Branfireun)
Vincent Kuuire Vincent Kuuire
Room 1424, SSC
zkuuire@uwo.ca
Impact of transnational housing investment on Ghanaian immigrant housing experiences in Canada
(Arku/Luginaah)
Donald Lafreniere Donald Lafreniere
Room 1428, SSC
dlafren2@uwo.ca
Reconstructing Spatial and Temporal Patterns of Daily Life in the 19th Century City
(Gilliland)


website
Ivan Lee Ivan Lee Room 1413, SSC
ilee23@uwo.ca
Climate, human health, environmental issues, knowledge translation
(Voogt)

Ashley Manning Ashley Manning Room 1432, SSC
amannin6@uwo.ca
The role of community-led approaches in addressing food sovereignty concerns in rural and urban Newfoundland and Labrador
(Baxter)
Tristan Martel Tristan Martel
Room 2404, SSC
tmartel@uwo.ca
Landscape evolution modeling
(Van de Wiel)

website
Sarah Mason Sarah Mason Room 2244, SSC
smason27@uwo.ca
(Luginaah/Parr)

website
Sarah McCans Sarah McCans Room 3116, SSC
smccans@uwo.ca
Children's exposure to nature and their health & well-being
(Gilliland)
Shenika McFarlane-Morris Shenika McFarlane-Morris Room 2248, SSC
smcfar5@uwo.ca
Mass Tourism and Community Development on the North Coast of Jamaica
(Arku/Weis)
David Morimoto David Morimoto
Room 2233, SSC
dmorimot@uwo.ca
Reconstruction of climate variability in the Yukon Territory and northern British Columbia using tree rings
(Luckman)
Hanson Nyantakti-Frimpong Hanson Nyantakyi-Frimpong Room 2250, SSC

hnyantak@uwo.ca

Hungry farmers: A political ecology of agriculture and food security in Northern Ghana
(Bezner Kerr)
Tor Oiamo Tor Oiamo
Room 2244, SSC
thoiamo@uwo.ca
Sustainable transportation, community health and exposure assessment
(Luginaah/Parr)
Johnathan Osborne Johnathan Osborne
Room 2252, SSC
josbor5@uwo.ca
Housing careers of recently arrived Refugees in second-tier Canadian cities

(Buzzelli)

website

Lydia Osei Lydia Osei Room 2434, SSC
losei3@uwo.ca
Poverty, Unemployment and Youth Empowerment in African Mining Communities: The Case of Ghana
(Arku/Luginaah)
Greg Oulahen Greg Oulahen Room 2308, SSC

goulahe@uwo.ca

The production of unequal vulnerability to climate hazards in Metro Vancouver, Canada
(McBean/Shrubsole)
Sepehr Pashang Sepehr Pashang Room  2410, SSC
spashang@uwo.ca
Low-tech innovations humanitarian relief/social
(Pazner)
Sarah Peirce Sarah Peirce Room 1418, SSC
speirce@uwo.ca
Characterization of the Active Width in Gravel-bed Braided Rivers
(Ashmore)
website
Bharat Punjabi Bharat Punjabi

bpunjabi@uwo.ca

Urban development and water resources management in Bombay, India
(Dodson)
Amy Ratcliffe Amy Ratcliffe
Room 2252, SSC
aratcli@uwo.ca
The everyday geographies of recent immigrants
(Hopkins)
Douglas Rivet Douglas Rivet Room 3116, SSC

drivet2@uwo.ca

Active Transportation and the Built Environment(Gilliland)
Yvonne Rollins Yvonne Rollins Room 2235, SSC

yrollins@uwo.ca

Realising waste's resource potential: explaining uneven uptake of waste to energy technologies by Ontario municipalities
(Baxter)
website
http://rewarp.uwo.ca/
Karen Ross Karen Ross
Room 2248, SSC
kross44@uwo.ca
Struggling to Compete: Community-based Research on Agarian Change in the Caribbean
(Weis)
Yannick Rousseau Yannick Rousseau Room 2404, SSC

yroussea@uwo.ca

(Van de Wiel)
Fatih Sekercioglu Fatih Sekercioglu Room 3107, SSC
msekerci@uwo.ca
(Richmond)
Luis Silva Luis Silva
Room 2235, SSC
lsilvaji@uwo.ca
A Shift from Government to Governance: Integrated Water Resource Management in the Lerma-Chapala Basin, Mexico
(Shrubsole)
Emmanuel Songsore Emmanuel Songsore
Room 2233, SSC
esongsor@uwo.ca

Social responses to wind energy development in Ontario
(Buzzelli)

Marylynn Steckley Marylynn Steckley
Room 1432, SSC
msteckl@uwo.ca
Peasant Prospects and Food Politics in Post-Earthquake Haiti
(Weis)
Josh Tobias Joshua Tobias
Room 3107, SSC
jtobias@uwo.ca
Preserving Knowledge, Protecting Health: Community-based Participatory Action Research with Anishnabe Communities on Northern Lake Superior
(Luginaah/Richmond)
Mengieng Ung Mengieng Ung Room 1424, SSC

mung2@uwo.ca

Coastal Environmental Changes: The Impact on Livelihoods and Population Health in Cambodia(Luginaah)
Brennan Vogel Brennan Vogel Room 2436, SSC
bvogel@uwo.ca
Coastal planning for climate change adaptation(McBean/Weis)
Chad Walker Chad Walker Room 1424, SSC

cwalke26@uwo.ca

Provincial wind energy policy and local impacts: Case studies from Canadian rural communities
(Baxter)

website
       

 

Masters Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Joannah Campbell Joannah Campbell Room 3116, SSC
jclift@uwo.ca
Children's Health and the Built Environment. Specifically, a review of recreation facility use by grade 5 students throughout London, Ontario
(Gilliland/Hopkins)
Evan Cleave Christopher Chesworth Room 2435, SSC
ccheswor@uwo.ca
Temporal and spatial variability of stream exposed to human wastewater effluent
(Yates)
Michael Clark Michael Clark Room 1411, SSC
mclar4@uwo.ca
Small Food Business Incubation and Community Economic Development
(Gilliland)
Emily Eyles Emily Eyles Room 1424, SSC
eeyles@uwo.ca
An economic and locational analysis of probiotic yoghurt kitchens in Mwanza, Tanzania
(Luginaah)
Amber Gall Amber Gall
Room 1430, SSC
agall4@uwo.ca

(Moser)

Autumn Gambles Autumn Gambles
Room 2430, SSC
agambles@uwo.ca

(Wang)

Mariane Ferencevic Amy Gartshore
 agartsho@uwo.ca Plume modeling and environmental equity
(Gilliland)
Roger Holmes Roger Holmes Room 2435, SSC
rholme4@uwo.ca
Determine the association between the structure of benthic macroinvertebrate communities and the number and location of agricultural BMPs relative to the position of hydrologically connected areas
(Yates)
Lucia Hussey Lucia Hussey Room 2410, SSC
lhussey3@uwo.ca
Analytic Network Process (ANP) for Housing Quality Evaluation: A Case Study in Ghana
(Malczewski)
Evan Cleave Natalie Izral Room 2435, SSC
nizral@uwo.ca
Identifying ecological indicators for monitoring the Tobacco Creek Model Watershed
(Yates)
Joseph Kangmennaang Joseph Kangmennaang Room 2434, SSC
jkangmen@uwo.ca
The effects of small scale mining on the health of people in the Lawra District
(Luginaah)
James Kennedy James Kennedy Room 2306, SSC
jkenne67@uwo.ca
Service providers and tenants perceptions of the Housing First Model in Southern Ontario
(Arku)
Evan Cleave Niyomi Khalid Room 2410, SSC
nkhalid3@uwo.ca
(Pazner)
Evan Cleave Dimuth Kurukulaarachchi Room 1413. SSC
dkurukul@uwo.ca
A Comparison of the Energy Balance of Green Roofs in Different Climates
(Voogt)
Renee Lazor Renee Lazor Room 2435, SSC
rlazor@uwo.ca
Nutrient Concentrations in Tributaries of the Great Lakes
(Yates)
Victoria Le Victoria Le

ale6@uwo.ca

Diffusion of Innovations: Probiotic Yogurt in the Context of HIV/AIDS in Africa

(Luginaah)

Martin Lefebvre Martin Lefebvre Room 1120, SSC
mlefebv8@uwo.ca

(Green)

Sarah Levine Sarah Levine Room 2417, SSC
slevine8@uwo.ca
Structural changes in industrial agriculture/livestock production (esp. dairy production) in Ontario and accompanying environmental regulation
(Weis)
Faith Mambulu Faith Mambulu Room 1424, SSC
fmambulu@uwo.ca
Agricultural Interventions as a Means to Food Security: Experiences of HIV/AIDS Affected Households in Northern Malawi
(Bezner Kerr/Luginaah)
Mark McGregor Mark McGregor Room 1411, SSC
mmcgre27@uwo.ca
Using a smartphone app to target food accessibility with spatial and temporal interventions
(Gilliland)
Leanne McIntosh Leanne McIntosh Room 3116, SSC
lmcint7@uwo.ca
Examining the impact of children's exposure to and use of natural built environments on sleep(Gilliland)
Christine Mitchell Christine Mitchell
Room 3116, SSC
cmitch57@uwo.ca

Active transportation and the built environment(Gilliland)

Shirley Ngai Shirley Ngai Room 1430, SSC
sngai5@uwo.ca
Determining effects of warming temperature and precipitation on physical and chemical properties of Uinta Mountain Lakes, Utah, USA
(Moser)
website
Madeleine Northcote Madeleine Northcote Room 2436, SSC
mnorthc2@uwo.ca
Entrepreneurship amongst Cape Town’s forced migrants
(Dodson)
Michelle Paquette Michelle Paquette Room 2417, SSC
mpaquet4@uwo.ca
The Locations and Spatial Evolution of Corporate Headquarters
(Green)
Caren Raedts Caren Raedts Room 1424, SSC
craedts@uwo.ca
Probiotics in Yoghurt and Improving Quality of Life
(Luginaah)
Jonathan Raikes Jonathan Raikes Room 2310, SSC
jraikes@uwo.ca
Coastal city vulnerability and response to rising sea levels, examining hazard risk management strategies associated with changing climatic conditions by the private and government sectors
(McBean)
Lucie Richard Lucie Richard Exploring the association between commute to school duration and children's health-related behaviours and outcomes
(Gilliland)
Jacqueline Serran Jacqueline Serran Room 2308, SSC
jserran2@uwo.ca
A watershed scale and process-based approach to estimating wetland health using GIS/remote sensing techniques
(Creed)
Bo Shan Bo Shan Room 2410, SSC
bshan3@uwo.ca
Multivariate Data Geovisualization in Knowledge Discovery
(Pazner)
Thomas Thayer Thomas Thayer Room 2436, SSC
tthayer2@uwo.ca
Understanding the Spatiality of Urban Active and Public Transportation Patterns
(Arku/Gilliland)
Germaine Tuyisenge Germaine Tuyisenge Room 2254, SSC
gtuyisen@uwo.ca
(Luginaah)
Kevin Vuong Kevin Vuong Room 2306, SSC
kvuong@uwo.ca
Privatization and its Spatial Impact on Accessibility of Cancer Diagnostic Services
(Mok)
Visiting Scholar Jun Zhang Room 2430, SSC
jzhan624@uwo.ca
(Wang)