Graduate Students

PhD Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Ellena Andoniou Ellena Andoniou
eandonio@uwo.ca HIV Aids in Nigeria
(Luginaah)
Frederick Armah Frederick Armah Room 1424, SSC

farmah@uwo.ca

Environment and Human Health in the Anthropocene: Interactions between the Natural Environment and Social Systems in Coastal Tanzania
(Luginaah)

website
Dominica Babicki Dominica Babicki Room 1432, SSC
dbabicki@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Riley Dillon Kayla Baumgartner Room 2434, SSC
kbaumga2@uwo.ca
(Dodson)
Daniel Bednar Daniel Bednar Room 2410, SSC

dbednar@uwo.ca

Coordination and Early Policy Stages in Climate Adaptation: Explaining and Comparing Efforts within Manitoba and Ontario
(McBean/Shrubsole)

website
Nathaniel Bergman Nathaniel Bergman Room 2404, SSC

nbergma@uwo.ca

Channel morphology, channel sedimentology and hydraulic modeling in a formerly glaciated terrain
(Van de Wiel/Hicock)

website
Alexandra Bozheva Alexandra Bozheva Room 2434, SSC
abozheva@uwo.ca
Multicultural Canada: Mapping Welcome-ability of Canadian Cities and Universities
(Dodson)
Evan Cleave Evan Cleave Room 2436, SSC
ecleave2@uwo.ca
Place branding and local economic development(Arku)
David Crenna David Crenna
ccrenna@uwo.ca The Urban Geography of Political Decisions:  The Federal Government and Canada's Urbanization, 1871-2011
(Buzzelli)
Riley Dillon Riley Dillon Room 2252, SSC

rdillon@uwo.ca

(Dodson)
Evan Cleave Oscar E-Senar Room 2304, SSC
oesenar@uwo.ca
Food web dynamics in lakes
(Creed)
Boyu Feng Boyu Feng Room 2430, SSC
bfeng24@uwo.ca
Urban feature extraction from high resolution remote sensing data
(Wang)
Cindy Graeme Cindy Graeme Room 3107, SSC
csmithe3@uwo.ca
Rekindling the Flame: An Exploration of the Relationship between Health, Place and Identity among First Nations Male Youth in London, Ontario
(Richmond)
Jane Hammond Jane Hammond Room 1432, SSC
jhammo7@uwo.ca
Changing industries (tourism and offshore oil) and their effect on the geography of the city and people
(Hopkins)
Martin Healy Martin Healy
Room 1411, SSC mhealy2@uwo.ca Putting Children on the Map - use of GISci to provide a better understanding of the relationship of childhood health conditions to socioeconomic and environmental factors
(Gilliland)
Chris Hewitt Chris Hewitt
Room 2250, SSC
chewitt4@uwo.ca
The Battle of Hastings: A Geographic Perspective
(Stooke/Gervers)

website
Hossein Hosseini Hossein Hosseini Room 2436, SSC
hhossei7@uwo.ca
Multicriteria decision analysis and geosimulation modeling of urban land use patterns
(Malczewski)
Xiaodong Huang Xiaodong Huang Room 2430, SSC
xhuan33@uwo.ca
Agricultural Information Extraction from Polarimetric SAR
(Wang)
Erin Huner ehuner@uwo.ca (Parr/White)
Lucia Hussey Lucia Hussey Room 2436, SSC
lhussey3@uwo.ca
Multicriteria decision analysis and Housing
(Arku)
Fatemeh Khajehvarnamkhsti Fatemeh  Khajehvarnamkhsti fkhajehv@uwo.ca (Malczewski)
Wes Kinghorn Wes Kinghorn Room 2310, SSC
wkinghor@uwo.ca
The place making processes underlying the creation, perpetuation and management of Heritage Conservation Districts
(Hopkins)
Edward Krynak Edward Krynak Room 2435, SSC
ekrynak@uwo.ca
Benthic invert body size spectrum in Ag dominated streams
(Yates/Branfireun)
Vincent Kuuire Vincent Kuuire
Room 1424, SSC
zkuuire@uwo.ca
Impact of transnational housing investment on Ghanaian immigrant housing experiences in Canada
(Arku/Luginaah)
Ivan Lee Ivan Lee Room 1413, SSC
ilee23@uwo.ca
Climate, human health, environmental issues, knowledge translation
(Voogt)

Martin Lefebvre Martin Lefebvre Room 2417, SSC
mlefebv8@uwo.ca

Geography of Institutional Investment in Canada and around the world from 2000-2015(Green)

Chunhua Liao Chunhua Liao Room 2430, SSC
cliao33@uwo.ca
(Wang)
Ashley Manning Ashley Manning Room 1432, SSC
amannin6@uwo.ca
The role of community-led approaches in addressing food sovereignty concerns in rural and urban Newfoundland and Labrador
(Baxter)
Tristan Martel Tristan Martel
 tmartel@uwo.ca Landscape evolution modeling
(Van de Wiel)

website
Sarah Mason Sarah Mason Room 2244, SSC
smason27@uwo.ca
Emerging views of rural landscapes in Ontario: A Case Study of the Siting of a Regional Biosolid Processing Facility in Southgate Township(Luginaah/Parr)

website
Sarah McCans Sarah McCans Room 3116, SSC
smccans@uwo.ca
Children's exposure to nature and their health & well-being
(Gilliland)
Shenika McFarlane-Morris Shenika
McFarlane-Morris
smcfar5@uwo.ca
Mass Tourism and Community Development on the North Coast of Jamaica
(Arku/Weis)
Meghan McMorris Meghan McMorris Room 1424, SSC
mmcmorri@uwo.ca
To examine the social processes of waste at the household level
(Baxter)
David Morimoto David Morimoto
Room 2233, SSC
dmorimot@uwo.ca
Reconstruction of climate variability in the Yukon Territory and northern British Columbia using tree rings
(Luckman)
Tor Oiamo Tor Oiamo
Room 2244, SSC
thoiamo@uwo.ca
Sustainable transportation, community health and exposure assessment
(Luginaah/Parr)
Johnathan Osborne Johnathan Osborne
Room 2250, SSC
josbor5@uwo.ca
Housing careers of recently arrived Refugees in second-tier Canadian cities

(Buzzelli)

website

Lydia Osei Lydia Osei Room 1424, SSC
losei3@uwo.ca
Poverty, Unemployment and Youth Empowerment in African Mining Communities: The Case of Ghana
(Arku/Luginaah)
Greg Oulahen Greg Oulahen

goulahe@uwo.ca

The production of unequal vulnerability to climate hazards in Metro Vancouver, Canada
(McBean/Shrubsole)
Eli Paddle Eli Paddle
 epaddle@uwo.ca

Environmental Staging: Trees as the Primary Prop in the Design of Learning Environments that Support Attention Functioning
(Gilliland)

Eli Paddle Heather Peacock Room 2410, SSC
hpeacock@uwo.ca
A global GIS analysis of primate diversity and biogeography: Assessing trends in habitat loss and extinction risk to inform primate conservation biology
(Pazner/Colqhoun)
Sarah Peirce Sarah Peirce Room 1418, SSC
speirce@uwo.ca
Characterization of the Active Width in Gravel-bed Braided Rivers
(Ashmore)

website
Bharat Punjabi Bharat Punjabi

bpunjabi@uwo.ca

Urban development and water resources management in Bombay, India
(Dodson)
Douglas Rivet Douglas Rivet Room 3116, SSC

drivet2@uwo.ca

Active Transportation and the Built Environment(Gilliland)
Yvonne Rollins Yvonne Rollins

yrollins@uwo.ca

Realising waste's resource potential: explaining uneven uptake of waste to energy technologies by Ontario municipalities
(Baxter)
website
http://rewarp.uwo.ca/
Yannick Rousseau Yannick Rousseau Room 2404, SSC

yroussea@uwo.ca

(Van de Wiel)
Fatih Sekercioglu Fatih Sekercioglu Room 3107, SSC
msekerci@uwo.ca
(Richmond)
Luis Silva Luis Silva
Room 2235, SSC
lsilvaji@uwo.ca
A Shift from Government to Governance: Integrated Water Resource Management in the Lerma-Chapala Basin, Mexico
(Shrubsole)
Emmanuel Songsore Emmanuel Songsore
Room 2233, SSC
esongsor@uwo.ca

Social responses to wind energy development in Ontario
(Buzzelli)

Marylynn Steckley Marylynn Steckley
Room 2252, SSC
msteckl@uwo.ca
Peasant Prospects and Food Politics in Post-Earthquake Haiti
(Weis)
Josh Tobias Joshua Tobias
Room 3107, SSC
jtobias@uwo.ca
Preserving Knowledge, Protecting Health: Community-based Participatory Action Research with Anishnabe Communities on Northern Lake Superior
(Luginaah/Richmond)
Mengieng Ung Mengieng Ung Room 2235, SSC

mung2@uwo.ca

Coastal Environmental Changes: The Impact on Livelihoods and Population Health in Cambodia(Luginaah)
Siera Vercillo Paul van der Werf Room 3116, SSC
pvande2@uwo.ca
Food Waste Reduction
(Gilliland)
Siera Vercillo Siera Vercillo Room 1424, SSC
svercill@uwo.ca
Nutrition and food security in West Africa(Luginaah/Weis)
Brennan Vogel Brennan Vogel Room 2410, SSC
bvogel@uwo.ca
Municipal climate change adaptation(McBean/Weis)
Chad Walker Chad Walker Room 1424, SSC

cwalke26@uwo.ca

Wind energy development processes and community-level impacts in Ontario and Nova Scotia, Canada
(Baxter)

website
       

 

Masters Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Roger Antabe Roger Antabe Room 1424, SSC
rantabe@uwo.ca
Environment and Health Perceptions in the Vicinity of Surface Mining Concessions in the Upper West Region of Ghana
(Luginaah)
Kilian Atuoye Kilian Atuoye Room 1424, SSC
katuoye@uwo.ca
Household food security and health relationships in the Upper West Region of Ghana
(Luginaah)
Danielle Barr Danielle Barr Room 2436, SSC
dbarr9@uwo.ca
The spatial distribution of bacteria in the Thames River catchment
(Smart)
Jason Bayne Jason Bayne Room 2306, SSC
jbayne4@uwo.ca
The relationship between patient care and the architecture of methadone clinics
(Baxter)
Laura Briggs Laura Briggs Room 2435, SSC
lbriggs7@uwo.ca
Assessment of human impacts on water quality through benthic macroinvertebrate biomonitoring in the Grand River watershed
(Yates)
Joannah Campbell Joannah Campbell Room 3116, SSC
jclift@uwo.ca
Children's Health and the Built Environment. Specifically, a review of recreation facility use by grade 5 students throughout London, Ontario
(Gilliland/Hopkins)
Christopher Chesworth Christopher Chesworth Room 2435, SSC
ccheswor@uwo.ca
Temporal and spatial variability of stream exposed to human wastewater effluent
(Yates)
Michael Clark Michael Clark Room 1411, SSC
mclar4@uwo.ca
Small Food Business Incubation and Community Economic Development
(Gilliland)
Samantha Da Rosa Holmes Samantha
Da Rosa Holmes
Room 2308, SSC
sdarosah@uwo.ca
First Nations' traditional ecological knowledge in the ideas of environmental health and revitalization
(Fehr/Baxter)
Ileana Diaz Ileana Diaz Room 2436, SSC
idiaz3@uwo.ca
Political ecology of oil palm, food and environmental politics, displacement, migration and inequality (Hunsberger)
Emily Eyles Emily Eyles Room 1424, SSC
eeyles@uwo.ca
An economic and locational analysis of probiotic yoghurt kitchens in Mwanza, Tanzania
(Luginaah)
Amber Gall Amber Gall
Room 1430, SSC
agall4@uwo.ca
Effects of landscape and climate variations on lake productivity in Alberta
(Moser)
Autumn Gambles Autumn Gambles
 agambles@uwo.ca

(Wang)

Mariane Ferencevic Amy Gartshore
 agartsho@uwo.ca Plume modeling and environmental equity
(Gilliland)
Jeremy Grimstead Jeremy Grimstead Room 2435, SSC
jgrimste@uwo.ca
Utilizing aquatic invertebrates to assess human impact on stream ecology
(Yates)
Jason Igras Jason Igras Room 2417, SSC
jigras@uwo.ca
Ecosystem Risk Assessment and Management using the Bowtie Method and Focusing on the Cumulative Effects of Forest Harvesting Practices on Downstream Aquatic Ecosystem
(Creed)
Natalie Izral Natalie Izral Room 2435, SSC
nizral@uwo.ca
Investigating the suitability of the crayfish metabolome as a bioindicator of aquatic ecosystem conditions
(Yates)
Joseph Kangmennaang Joseph Kangmennaang Room 1424, SSC
jkangmen@uwo.ca
The effects of small scale mining on the health of people in the Lawra District
(Luginaah)
James Kennedy James Kennedy Room 2306, SSC
jkenne67@uwo.ca
Service providers and tenants perceptions of the Housing First Model in Southern Ontario
(Arku)
Niyomi Khalid Niyomi Khalid Room 2410, SSC
nkhalid3@uwo.ca
Using remotely sensed data and GIS to better understand copper porphyry deposit in Peru(Pazner)
Dimuth Kurukulaarachchi Dimuth Kurukulaarachchi Room 1413, SSC
dkurukul@uwo.ca
Characterizing the energy balance of green roofs in varying Canadian Climates
(Voogt)
Renee Lazor Renee Lazor rlazor@uwo.ca
Nutrient Concentrations in Tributaries of the Great Lakes
(Yates)
Victoria Le Victoria Le

ale6@uwo.ca

Diffusion of Innovations: Probiotic Yogurt in the Context of HIV/AIDS in Africa

(Luginaah)

Emily Lipkowski Emily  Lipkowski Room 1430, SSC
elipkows@uwo.ca
Mapping channel changes over time in the Okavango Delta
(Van de Wiel)
Mark McGregor Mark McGregor Room 1411, SSC
mmcgre27@uwo.ca
Direct-farm marketing and rural economic development
(Gilliland)
Christine Mitchell Christine Mitchell
Room 3116, SSC
cmitch57@uwo.ca
The built environment and children's physical activity: opportunity vs exposure
(Gilliland)
Shirley Ngai Shirley Ngai Room 1430, SSC
sngai5@uwo.ca
Determining effects of warming temperature and precipitation on physical and chemical properties of Uinta Mountain Lakes, Utah, USA
(Moser)
website
Madeleine Northcote Madeleine Northcote Room 2434, SSC
mnorthc2@uwo.ca
Entrepreneurship amongst Cape Town’s forced migrants
(Dodson)
Michelle Paquette Michelle Paquette mpaquet4@uwo.ca
The Locations and Spatial Evolution of Corporate Headquarters
(Green)
Ian Pritchard Ian Pritchard Room 2410, SSC
ipritcha@uwo.ca
Crater Detection and Planetary Image Analysis(Wang)
Caren Raedts Caren Raedts Room 1430, SSC
craedts@uwo.ca
Probiotics in Yoghurt and Improving Quality of Life
(Luginaah)
Jonathan Raikes Jonathan Raikes Room 2310, SSC
jraikes@uwo.ca
Understanding Development Pathways of Local Responses to Floods: Responses in the City of Vancouver and Maple Ridge, British Columbia
(McBean)
Amy Ratcliffe Amy Ratcliffe
Room 2252, SSC
aratcli@uwo.ca
The everyday geographies of recent immigrants
(Hopkins)
Jacqueline Serran Jacqueline Serran Room 2304, SSC
jserran2@uwo.ca
A watershed scale and process-based approach to estimating wetland health using GIS/remote sensing techniques
(Creed)
Bo Shan Bo Shan Room 2410, SSC
bshan3@uwo.ca
Multivariate Data Geovisualization in Knowledge Discovery
(Pazner)
Christine Smith Christine Smith Room 3116, SSC
csmit263@uwo.ca
Investigating how geographic and economic accessibility influence children's physical activity(Gilliland)
Yang Song Yang Song Room 2434, SSC
ysong24@uwo.ca
The application of Polarimetric SAR on the monitoring of plant nitrate and moisture(Wang/Stooke)
Thomas Thayer Thomas Thayer Room 2410, SSC
tthayer2@uwo.ca
Understanding the Spatiality of Urban Active and Public Transportation Patterns
(Arku/Gilliland)
Germaine Tuyisenge Germaine Tuyisenge gtuyisen@uwo.ca
(Luginaah)
Kevin Vuong Kevin Vuong Room 2306, SSC
kvuong@uwo.ca
The spatial impact of privatization of cancer diagnostic services
(Mok)
Carrie Warring Carrie Warring Room 1424, SSC
cwarring@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Anna Waz Anna Waz Room 2308, SSC
awaz@uwo.ca
GIS techniques to define wetland structure and function
(Creed)
Hannah Woods Hannah Woods Room 1432, SSC
hwoods2@uwo.ca
Contribution of Community-based Health Planning and Services to community sustainability in the Upper West Region of Ghana(Luginaah)