Graduate Students

PhD Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Evan Cleave Armin Ahmadi aahma2@uwo.ca Agent based modelling for spatial patterns of infectious disease
(Malczewski)
Ellena Andoniou Ellena Andoniou
eandonio@uwo.ca HIV Aids in Nigeria
(Luginaah)
Kilian Atuoye Kilian Atuoye Room 1424, SSC
katuoye@uwo.ca
Large-scale land acquisitions in the western Indian Ocean World: quantifying the food security and human health impacts
(Luginaah)
Dominica Babicki Dominica Babicki Room 1432, SSC
dbabicki@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Riley Dillon Kayla Baumgartner Room 2434, SSC
kbaumga2@uwo.ca
Queer migration to South Africa
(Dodson)
Daniel Bednar Daniel Bednar Room 2410, SSC

dbednar@uwo.ca

Environmental Governance, Multilevel Governance, Extreme Weather Adaptation, Political Geography
(McBean/Shrubsole)

website
Nathaniel Bergman Nathaniel Bergman Room 2404, SSC

nbergma@uwo.ca

Channel morphology, channel sedimentology and hydraulic modeling in a formerly glaciated terrain
(Van de Wiel/Hicock)

website
Alexandra Bozheva Alexandra Bozheva Room 2434, SSC
abozheva@uwo.ca
Multicultural Canada: Mapping Welcome-ability of Canadian Cities and Universities
(Dodson)
Evan Cleave Brenton Button bbutton3@uwo.ca Examining the influences of Canadian children's physical activity patterns/levels
(Gilliland)
Evan Cleave Evan Cleave Room 2436, SSC
ecleave2@uwo.ca
Place branding and local economic development(Arku)
David Crenna David Crenna
ccrenna@uwo.ca The Urban Geography of Political Decisions:  The Federal Government and Canada's Urbanization, 1871-2011
(Buzzelli)
Riley Dillon Riley Dillon Room 2252, SSC

rdillon@uwo.ca

(Dodson)
Evan Cleave Oscar E-Senar Room 2304, SSC
oesenar@uwo.ca
Food web dynamics in lakes
(Creed)
Boyu Feng Boyu Feng Room 2430, SSC
bfeng24@uwo.ca
Urban feature extraction from high resolution remote sensing data
(Wang)
Cindy Graeme Cindy Graeme Room 3107, SSC
csmithe3@uwo.ca
Rekindling the Fire: An Exploration of Health, Identity, and Place among Urban First Nations Male Youth
(Richmond)
Jane Hammond Jane Hammond Room 1432, SSC
jhammo7@uwo.ca
Changing industries (tourism and offshore oil) and their effect on the geography of the city and people
(Hopkins)
Martin Healy Martin Healy
Room 1411, SSC mhealy2@uwo.ca Putting Children on the Map - use of GISci to provide a better understanding of the relationship of childhood health conditions to socioeconomic and environmental factors
(Gilliland)
Chris Hewitt Chris Hewitt
Room 2250, SSC
chewitt4@uwo.ca
The Battle of Hastings: A Geographic Perspective
(Stooke/Gervers)

website
Hossein Hosseini Hossein Hosseini Room 2436, SSC
hhossei7@uwo.ca
Multicriteria decision analysis and geosimulation modeling of urban land use patterns
(Malczewski)
Xiaodong Huang Xiaodong Huang Room 2430, SSC
xhuan33@uwo.ca
Agricultural Information Extraction by PolSAR
(Wang)
Erin Huner ehuner@uwo.ca (Parr/White)
Lucia Hussey Lucia Hussey Room 2436, SSC
lhussey3@uwo.ca
Multicriteria Evaluation Analysis to Climate Change- Infectious Disease Linkages in Ghana
(Arku)
Fatemeh Khajehvarnamkhsti Fatemeh  Khajehvarnamkhsti fkhajehv@uwo.ca (Malczewski)
Wes Kinghorn Wes Kinghorn Room 2310, SSC
wkinghor@uwo.ca
The place making processes underlying the creation, perpetuation and management of Heritage Conservation Districts (Cultural Geography)
(Hopkins)
Edward Krynak Edward Krynak Room 2435, SSC
ekrynak@uwo.ca
Benthic invert body size spectrum in Ag dominated streams
(Yates/Branfireun)
Vincent Kuuire Vincent Kuuire
Room 1424, SSC
zkuuire@uwo.ca
Impact of transnational housing investment on Ghanaian immigrant housing experiences in Canada
(Arku/Luginaah)
Ivan Lee Ivan Lee Room 1413, SSC
ilee23@uwo.ca
Climate, human health, environmental issues, knowledge translation
(Voogt)

Martin Lefebvre Martin Lefebvre Room 2417, SSC
mlefebv8@uwo.ca

Geography of Institutional Investment in Canada and around the world from 2000-2015(Green)

Chunhua Liao Chunhua Liao Room 2430, SSC
cliao33@uwo.ca
Annual Crop Net Primary Productivity (NPP) estimation in Southwestern Ontario, Canada using multi-source remote sensing data
(Wang)
Ashley Manning Ashley Manning Room 1432, SSC
amannin6@uwo.ca
The role of community-led approaches in addressing food sovereignty concerns in rural and urban Newfoundland and Labrador
(Baxter)
Tristan Martel Tristan Martel
 tmartel@uwo.ca Landscape evolution modeling
(Van de Wiel)

website
Sarah Mason Sarah Mason Room 2244, SSC
smason27@uwo.ca
Emerging views of rural landscapes in Ontario: A Case Study of the Siting of a Regional Biosolid Processing Facility in Southgate Township(Luginaah/Parr)

website
Sarah McCans Sarah McCans Room 3116, SSC
smccans@uwo.ca
Children's exposure to nature and their health & well-being
(Gilliland)
Shenika McFarlane-Morris Shenika
McFarlane-Morris
smcfar5@uwo.ca
Mass Tourism and Community Development on the North Coast of Jamaica
(Arku/Weis)
Meghan McMorris Meghan McMorris Room 1424, SSC
mmcmorri@uwo.ca
Using community based research my PhD thesis looks at community owned renewable energy initiatives in Ontario First Nation communities and how they effect the well-being of the community
(Baxter/Richmond)
Edward Krynak Grant Morin gmorin5@uwo.ca

The examination of the economic and environmental impact of Canada's entertainment software industry
(Green)
Johnathan Osborne Johnathan Osborne
Room 2250, SSC
josbor5@uwo.ca
Housing careers of recently arrived Refugees in second-tier Canadian cities

(Buzzelli)

website

Lydia Osei Lydia Osei Room 1424, SSC
losei3@uwo.ca
Poverty, Unemployment and Youth in Ghanaian Mining Communities
(Arku/Luginaah)
Eli Paddle Eli Paddle
 epaddle@uwo.ca

Environmental Staging: Trees as the Primary Prop in the Design of Learning Environments that Support Attention Functioning
(Gilliland)

Eli Paddle Heather Peacock Room 2410, SSC
hpeacock@uwo.ca
Global GIS analysis of Primate Biogeography informing Primate Conservation biology
(Pazner/Colqhoun)
Sarah Peirce Sarah Peirce Room 1418, SSC
speirce@uwo.ca
Characterization of the Active Width in Gravel-Bed Braided Rivers 
(Ashmore)

website
Douglas Rivet Douglas Rivet Room 3116, SSC

drivet2@uwo.ca

Built Environment determinants of Active Transportation in London, Ontario
(Gilliland)
Yvonne Rollins Yvonne Rollins

yrollins@uwo.ca

Realising waste's resource potential: explaining uneven uptake of waste to energy technologies by Ontario municipalities
(Baxter)

website
http://rewarp.uwo.ca/
Yannick Rousseau Yannick Rousseau Room 2404, SSC

yroussea@uwo.ca

(Van de Wiel)
Fatih Sekercioglu Fatih Sekercioglu Room 3107, SSC
msekerci@uwo.ca
(Richmond)
Luis Silva Luis Silva
Room 2235, SSC
lsilvaji@uwo.ca
A Shift from Government to Governance: Integrated Water Resource Management in the Lerma-Chapala Basin, Mexico
(Shrubsole)
Emmanuel Songsore Emmanuel Songsore
Room 2233, SSC
esongsor@uwo.ca

Social responses to wind energy development in Ontario
(Buzzelli)

Mengieng Ung Mengieng Ung Room 2235, SSC

mung2@uwo.ca

Coastal Environmental Changes: The Impact on Livelihoods and Population Health in Cambodia(Luginaah)
Siera Vercillo Paul van der Werf Room 3116, SSC
pvande2@uwo.ca
Food waste prevention
(Gilliland)
Siera Vercillo Siera Vercillo Room 1424, SSC
svercill@uwo.ca
Gender, Agrarian Transitions and Rural Change-Household Entitlements to Food and Nutrition in Northern Ghana
(Luginaah/Weis)
Brennan Vogel Brennan Vogel Room 2410, SSC
bvogel@uwo.ca
Municipal climate change adaptation(McBean/Weis)
Chad Walker Chad Walker Room 1424, SSC

cwalke26@uwo.ca

Wind energy development processes and community-level impacts in Ontario and Nova Scotia, Canada
(Baxter)

website
     

 

Masters Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Ileana Diaz Michael Allen mallen83@uwo.ca A climatological analysis of the urban heat island using air temperatures and 3-D urban canyon surface temperatures
(Voogt)
Roger Antabe Roger Antabe Room 1424, SSC
rantabe@uwo.ca
Environment and Health Perceptions in the Vicinity of Surface Mining Concessions in the Upper West Region of Ghana
(Luginaah)
Danielle Barr Danielle Barr Room 2436, SSC
dbarr9@uwo.ca
The grain size distribution of Wilket Creek: an analysis of an urban river
(Ashmore)
Jason Bayne Jason Bayne Room 2306, SSC
jbayne4@uwo.ca
The Effects of Municipal Waste Disposal Method on Recycling and Composting Attitudes and Behaviours
(Baxter)
Ileana Diaz Joseph Braimah jbraimah@uwo.ca Access to maternal health care in the Upper West Region of Ghana: the case of Community-based Health Planning and Services (CHPS)(Luginaah)
Laura Briggs Laura Briggs Room 2435, SSC
lbriggs7@uwo.ca
Assessment of human impacts on water quality through benthic macroinvertebrate biomonitoring in the Grand River watershed
(Yates)
Joannah Campbell Joannah Campbell Room 3116, SSC
jclift@uwo.ca
The influence of transportation as a geographic and economic barrier to children's physical activity
(Gilliland/Hopkins)
Ileana Diaz Sarah Cappuccitti scappuc@uwo.ca Investigate the impact of a smartphone nutrition intervention on the eating behaviours of the adolescent population
(Gilliland)
Christopher Chesworth Christopher Chesworth Room 2435, SSC
ccheswor@uwo.ca
Temporal and spatial variability of stream exposed to human wastewater effluent
(Yates)
Michael Clark Michael Clark Room 1411, SSC
mclar4@uwo.ca
Small Food Business Incubation and Community Economic Development
(Gilliland)
Samantha Da Rosa Holmes Samantha
Da Rosa Holmes
Room 2308, SSC
sdarosah@uwo.ca
First Nations' traditional ecological knowledge in the ideas of environmental health and revitalization
(Fehr/Baxter)
Ileana Diaz Natasha Dhar ndhar@uwo.ca Thematization and changes in tourism geography
(Hopkins)
Ileana Diaz Ileana Diaz Room 2436, SSC
idiaz3@uwo.ca
Political ecology of oil palm, food and environmental politics, displacement, migration and inequality
(Hunsberger)
Ileana Diaz Rebecca Doyle rdoyle25@uwo.ca Using stable isotope science to help explain unusual trends in the d13C signal of alpine lake sediments. Links to climate warming, lake productivity, and nutrient loading(Moser/Longstaffe)
Ileana Diaz Catherine DuBreck cdubreck@uwo.ca Interest areas: urban geography, urban planning, environmental studies, food security, transportation
(Gilliland/Arku)
Amber Gall Amber Gall
Room 1430, SSC
agall4@uwo.ca
Effects of landscape and climate variations on lake productivity in Alberta
(Moser)
Mariane Ferencevic Amy Gartshore
 agartsho@uwo.ca Plume modeling and environmental equity
(Gilliland)
Jeremy Grimstead Jeremy Grimstead Room 2435, SSC
jgrimste@uwo.ca
Utilizing aquatic invertebrates to assess human impact on stream ecology
(Yates)
Jason Igras Julia Howett jhowett@uwo.ca Applied fluvial geomorphology and river restoration
(Ashmore)
Jason Igras Jason Igras Room 2417, SSC
jigras@uwo.ca
Ecosystem Risk Assessment and Management using the Bowtie Method and Focusing on the Cumulative Effects of Forest Harvesting Practices on Downstream Aquatic Ecosystem
(Creed)
Jason Igras Craig Irwin cirwin24@uwo.ca Functional Habitat Partitioning to Evaluate Stream Metabolism in a Large Regulated River (Yates)
Natalie Izral Natalie Izral Room 2435, SSC
nizral@uwo.ca
Investigating the suitability of the crayfish metabolome as a bioindicator of aquatic ecosystem conditions
(Yates)
Niyomi Khalid Niyomi Khalid Room 2410, SSC
nkhalid3@uwo.ca
Using remotely sensed data and GIS to better understand copper porphyry deposit in Peru(Pazner)
Dimuth Kurukulaarachchi Dimuth Kurukulaarachchi Room 1413, SSC
dkurukul@uwo.ca
Characterizing the energy balance of green roofs in varying Canadian Climates
(Voogt)
Emily Lipkowski Emily  Lipkowski Room 1430, SSC
elipkows@uwo.ca
Mapping channel changes over time in the Okavango Delta
(Van de Wiel)
Mark McGregor Mark McGregor Room 1411, SSC
mmcgre27@uwo.ca
Direct-farm marketing and rural economic development
(Gilliland)
Niyomi Khalid Sean Meksula smeksula@uwo.ca (Moser)
Niyomi Khalid Lara Middleton lmiddle7@uwo.ca Comparing the morpho-dynamics of physical models and field prototypes in gravel-bed rivers(Ashmore/Yates)
Christine Mitchell Christine Mitchell
Room 3116, SSC
cmitch57@uwo.ca
The built environment and children's physical activity: opportunity vs exposure
(Gilliland)
Niyomi Khalid Nolan Pearce npearce7@uwo.ca Land use effects on ecological and nutrient status of Great Lakes tributaries in Southern Ontario
(Yates)
Ian Pritchard Ian Pritchard Room 2410, SSC
ipritcha@uwo.ca
Automated crater detection and remote sensing image analysis in planetary science
(Wang)
Caren Raedts Caren Raedts Room 1430, SSC
craedts@uwo.ca
Probiotics in Yoghurt and Improving Quality of Life
(Luginaah)
Jonathan Raikes Jonathan Raikes Room 2310, SSC
jraikes@uwo.ca
Understanding Development Pathways of Local Responses to Floods: Responses in the City of Vancouver and Maple Ridge, British Columbia
(McBean)
Niyomi Khalid Saloni Salaria ssalari5@uwo.ca Landscape connectivity, Species habitat modeling, Estimating impact of land-use changes on carbon sequestration
(Creed)
Christine Smith Christine Smith Room 3116, SSC
csmit263@uwo.ca
Examining the implementation process of a local physical activity intervention
(Gilliland)
Yang Song Yang Song Room 2434, SSC
ysong24@uwo.ca
The application of Polarimetric SAR on the monitoring of plant nitrate and moisture(Wang/Stooke)
Thomas Thayer Thomas Thayer Room 2410, SSC
tthayer2@uwo.ca
Understanding the Spatiality of Urban Active and Public Transportation Patterns
(Arku/Gilliland)
Niyomi Khalid Suzanne Tillmann stillma@uwo.ca Food environments and health
(Gilliland)
Carrie Warring Carrie Warring Room 1424, SSC
cwarring@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Anna Waz Anna Waz Room 2308, SSC
awaz@uwo.ca
GIS techniques to define wetland structure and function
(Creed)
Niyomi Khalid Timothy Wiechers twiecher@uwo.ca Characterizing spatial variability in the urban canopy climate that impacts human thermal comfort within the city of Toronto
(Voogt)
Niyomi Khalid Katherine Wilson kwils65@uwo.ca Health Geography/ Children's Environments (Gilliland)
Hannah Woods Hannah Woods Room 1432, SSC
hwoods2@uwo.ca
The Contribution of Community-based Health Planning and Services to Community Health and Sustainability in the Upper West Region of Ghana(Luginaah)
Niyomi Khalid Hongyu Zhang hzhan338@uwo.ca Volunteered GIS
(Malczewski)