Graduate Students

PhD Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Ellena Andoniou Ellena Andoniou
eandonio@uwo.ca HIV Aids in Nigeria
(Luginaah)
Frederick Armah Frederick Armah Room 1424, SSC

farmah@uwo.ca

Environment and Human Health in the Anthropocene: Interactions between the Natural Environment and Social Systems in Coastal Tanzania
(Luginaah)

website
Riley Dillon Dominica Babicki Room 1432, SSC
dbabicki@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Riley Dillon Kayla Baumgartner Room 2424, SSC
kbaumga2@uwo.ca
(Dodson)
Daniel Bednar Daniel Bednar Room 2410, SSC

dbednar@uwo.ca

Coordination and Early Policy Stages in Climate Adaptation: Explaining and Comparing Efforts within Manitoba and Ontario
(McBean/Shrubsole)

website
Nathaniel Bergman Nathaniel Bergman Room 2404, SSC

nbergma@uwo.ca

Channel morphology, channel sedimentology and hydraulic modeling in a formerly glaciated terrain
(Van de Wiel/Hicock)

website
Alexandra Bozheva Alexandra Bozheva Room 2434, SSC
abozheva@uwo.ca
(Dodson)
Evan Cleave Evan Cleave Room 2436, SSC
ecleave2@uwo.ca
(Arku)
David Crenna David Crenna
ccrenna@uwo.ca The Urban Geography of Political Decisions:  The Federal Government and Canada's Urbanization, 1871-2011
(Buzzelli)
Riley Dillon Riley Dillon Room 2252, SSC

rdillon@uwo.ca

(Dodson)
Evan Cleave Oscar E-Senar Room 2304, SSC
oesenar@uwo.ca
(Creed)
Evan Cleave Boyu Feng Room 2430, SSC
bfeng24@uwo.ca
(Wang)
Cindy Graeme Cindy Graeme Room 3107, SSC
csmithe3@uwo.ca
Rekindling the Flame: An Exploration of the Relationship between Health, Place and Identity among First Nations Male Youth in London, Ontario
(Richmond)
Jane Hammond Jane Hammond Room 1432, SSC
jhammo7@uwo.ca
(Hopkins)
Martin Healy Martin Healy
Room 1411, SSC mhealy2@uwo.ca Putting Children on the Map - use of GISci to provide a better understanding of the relationship of childhood health conditions to socioeconomic and environmental factors
(Gilliland)
Chris Hewitt Chris Hewitt
Room 2250, SSC
chewitt4@uwo.ca
The Battle of Hastings: A Geographic Perspective
(Stooke/Gervers)

website
Hossein Hosseini Hossein Hosseini Room 2436, SSC
hhossei7@uwo.ca
GIS-OWA for Cellular Automata and Agent-based Modeling
(Malczewski)
Xiaodong Huang Xiaodong Huang Room 2430, SSC
xhuan33@uwo.ca
Agricultural Information Extraction from Polarimetric SAR
(Wang)
Erin Huner ehuner@uwo.ca (Parr/White)
Lucia Hussey Lucia Hussey Room 2436, SSC
lhussey3@uwo.ca
(Arku)
Fatemeh Khajehvarnamkhsti Fatemeh  Khajehvarnamkhsti fkhajehv@uwo.ca (Malczewski)
Wes Kinghorn Wes Kinghorn Room 2310, SSC
wkinghor@uwo.ca
The place making processes underlying the creation, perpetuation and management of Heritage Conservation Districts
(Hopkins)
Edward Krynak Edward Krynak Room 2435, SSC
ekrynak@uwo.ca
(Yates/Branfireun)
Vincent Kuuire Vincent Kuuire
Room 1424, SSC
zkuuire@uwo.ca
Impact of transnational housing investment on Ghanaian immigrant housing experiences in Canada
(Arku/Luginaah)
Ivan Lee Ivan Lee Room 1413, SSC
ilee23@uwo.ca
Climate, human health, environmental issues, knowledge translation
(Voogt)

Martin Lefebvre Martin Lefebvre Room 2417, SSC
mlefebv8@uwo.ca

(Green)

Edward Krynak Chunhua Liao Room 2430, SSC
cliao33@uwo.ca
(Wang)
Ashley Manning Ashley Manning Room 1432, SSC
amannin6@uwo.ca
The role of community-led approaches in addressing food sovereignty concerns in rural and urban Newfoundland and Labrador
(Baxter)
Tristan Martel Tristan Martel
 tmartel@uwo.ca Landscape evolution modeling
(Van de Wiel)

website
Sarah Mason Sarah Mason Room 2244, SSC
smason27@uwo.ca
(Luginaah/Parr)

website
Sarah McCans Sarah McCans Room 3116, SSC
smccans@uwo.ca
Children's exposure to nature and their health & well-being
(Gilliland)
Shenika McFarlane-Morris Shenika
McFarlane-Morris
smcfar5@uwo.ca
Mass Tourism and Community Development on the North Coast of Jamaica
(Arku/Weis)
Edward Krynak Meghan McMorris Room 1424, SSC
mmcmorri@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
David Morimoto David Morimoto
Room 2233, SSC
dmorimot@uwo.ca
Reconstruction of climate variability in the Yukon Territory and northern British Columbia using tree rings
(Luckman)
Tor Oiamo Tor Oiamo
Room 2244, SSC
thoiamo@uwo.ca
Sustainable transportation, community health and exposure assessment
(Luginaah/Parr)
Johnathan Osborne Johnathan Osborne
Room 2250, SSC
josbor5@uwo.ca
Housing careers of recently arrived Refugees in second-tier Canadian cities

(Buzzelli)

website

Lydia Osei Lydia Osei Room 1424, SSC
losei3@uwo.ca
Poverty, Unemployment and Youth Empowerment in African Mining Communities: The Case of Ghana
(Arku/Luginaah)
Greg Oulahen Greg Oulahen

goulahe@uwo.ca

The production of unequal vulnerability to climate hazards in Metro Vancouver, Canada
(McBean/Shrubsole)
Eli Paddle Eli Paddle
 epaddle@uwo.ca

Environmental Staging: Trees as the Primary Prop in the Design of Learning Environments that Support Attention Functioning
(Gilliland)

Sarah Peirce Sarah Peirce Room 1418, SSC
speirce@uwo.ca
Characterization of the Active Width in Gravel-bed Braided Rivers
(Ashmore)

website
Bharat Punjabi Bharat Punjabi

bpunjabi@uwo.ca

Urban development and water resources management in Bombay, India
(Dodson)
Douglas Rivet Douglas Rivet Room 3116, SSC

drivet2@uwo.ca

Active Transportation and the Built Environment(Gilliland)
Yvonne Rollins Yvonne Rollins

yrollins@uwo.ca

Realising waste's resource potential: explaining uneven uptake of waste to energy technologies by Ontario municipalities
(Baxter)
website
http://rewarp.uwo.ca/
Yannick Rousseau Yannick Rousseau Room 2404, SSC

yroussea@uwo.ca

(Van de Wiel)
Fatih Sekercioglu Fatih Sekercioglu Room 3107, SSC
msekerci@uwo.ca
(Richmond)
Luis Silva Luis Silva
Room 2235, SSC
lsilvaji@uwo.ca
A Shift from Government to Governance: Integrated Water Resource Management in the Lerma-Chapala Basin, Mexico
(Shrubsole)
Emmanuel Songsore Emmanuel Songsore
Room 2233, SSC
esongsor@uwo.ca

Social responses to wind energy development in Ontario
(Buzzelli)

Marylynn Steckley Marylynn Steckley
Room 2252, SSC
msteckl@uwo.ca
Peasant Prospects and Food Politics in Post-Earthquake Haiti
(Weis)
Josh Tobias Joshua Tobias
Room 3107, SSC
jtobias@uwo.ca
Preserving Knowledge, Protecting Health: Community-based Participatory Action Research with Anishnabe Communities on Northern Lake Superior
(Luginaah/Richmond)
Mengieng Ung Mengieng Ung Room 2235, SSC

mung2@uwo.ca

Coastal Environmental Changes: The Impact on Livelihoods and Population Health in Cambodia(Luginaah)
Edward Krynak Siera Vercillo Room 1424, SSC
svercill@uwo.ca
(Luginaah/Weis)
Brennan Vogel Brennan Vogel Room 2410, SSC
bvogel@uwo.ca
Coastal planning for climate change adaptation(McBean/Weis)
Chad Walker Chad Walker Room 1424, SSC

cwalke26@uwo.ca

Provincial wind energy policy and local impacts: Case studies from Canadian rural communities
(Baxter)

website
       

 

Masters Students

  Name Contact Information Research Interest (and Advisor)
Evan Cleave Roger Antabe Room 1424, SSC
rantabe@uwo.ca
(Luginaah)
Evan Cleave Kilian Atuoye Room 1424, SSC
katuoye@uwo.ca
(Luginaah)
Evan Cleave Danielle Barr Room 2436, SSC
dbarr9@uwo.ca
(Smart)
Evan Cleave Jason Bayne Room 2306, SSC
jbayne4@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Evan Cleave Laura Briggs Room 2435, SSC
lbriggs7@uwo.ca
(Yates)
Joannah Campbell Joannah Campbell Room 3116, SSC
jclift@uwo.ca
Children's Health and the Built Environment. Specifically, a review of recreation facility use by grade 5 students throughout London, Ontario
(Gilliland/Hopkins)
Evan Cleave Christopher Chesworth Room 2435, SSC
ccheswor@uwo.ca
Temporal and spatial variability of stream exposed to human wastewater effluent
(Yates)
Michael Clark Michael Clark Room 1411, SSC
mclar4@uwo.ca
Small Food Business Incubation and Community Economic Development
(Gilliland)
Evan Cleave Samantha
Da Rosa Holmes
Room 2308, SSC
sdarosah@uwo.ca
(Fehr/Baxter)
Evan Cleave Ileana Diaz Room 2436, SSC
idiaz3@uwo.ca
(Hunsberger)
Emily Eyles Emily Eyles Room 1424, SSC
eeyles@uwo.ca
An economic and locational analysis of probiotic yoghurt kitchens in Mwanza, Tanzania
(Luginaah)
Amber Gall Amber Gall
Room 1430, SSC
agall4@uwo.ca

(Moser)

Autumn Gambles Autumn Gambles
 agambles@uwo.ca

(Wang)

Mariane Ferencevic Amy Gartshore
 agartsho@uwo.ca Plume modeling and environmental equity
(Gilliland)
Evan Cleave Jeremy Grimstead Room 2435, SSC
jgrimste@uwo.ca
(Yates)
Evan Cleave Jason Igras Room 2417, SSC
jigras@uwo.ca
(Creed)
Evan Cleave Natalie Izral Room 2435, SSC
nizral@uwo.ca
Identifying ecological indicators for monitoring the Tobacco Creek Model Watershed
(Yates)
Joseph Kangmennaang Joseph Kangmennaang Room 1424, SSC
jkangmen@uwo.ca
The effects of small scale mining on the health of people in the Lawra District
(Luginaah)
James Kennedy James Kennedy Room 2306, SSC
jkenne67@uwo.ca
Service providers and tenants perceptions of the Housing First Model in Southern Ontario
(Arku)
Evan Cleave Niyomi Khalid Room 2410, SSC
nkhalid3@uwo.ca
(Pazner)
Evan Cleave Dimuth Kurukulaarachchi Room 1413, SSC
dkurukul@uwo.ca
A Comparison of the Energy Balance of Green Roofs in Different Climates
(Voogt)
Renee Lazor Renee Lazor rlazor@uwo.ca
Nutrient Concentrations in Tributaries of the Great Lakes
(Yates)
Victoria Le Victoria Le

ale6@uwo.ca

Diffusion of Innovations: Probiotic Yogurt in the Context of HIV/AIDS in Africa

(Luginaah)

Evan Cleave Emily  Lipkowski Room 1430, SSC
elipkows@uwo.ca
(Van de Wiel)
Mark McGregor Mark McGregor Room 1411, SSC
mmcgre27@uwo.ca
Using a smartphone app to target food accessibility with spatial and temporal interventions
(Gilliland)
Christine Mitchell Christine Mitchell
Room 3116, SSC
cmitch57@uwo.ca

Active transportation and the built environment(Gilliland)

Shirley Ngai Shirley Ngai Room 1430, SSC
sngai5@uwo.ca
Determining effects of warming temperature and precipitation on physical and chemical properties of Uinta Mountain Lakes, Utah, USA
(Moser)
website
Madeleine Northcote Madeleine Northcote Room 2434, SSC
mnorthc2@uwo.ca
Entrepreneurship amongst Cape Town’s forced migrants
(Dodson)
Michelle Paquette Michelle Paquette mpaquet4@uwo.ca
The Locations and Spatial Evolution of Corporate Headquarters
(Green)
Evan Cleave Ian Pritchard Room 2410, SSC
ipritcha@uwo.ca
(Wang)
Caren Raedts Caren Raedts Room 1430, SSC
craedts@uwo.ca
Probiotics in Yoghurt and Improving Quality of Life
(Luginaah)
Jonathan Raikes Jonathan Raikes Room 2310, SSC
jraikes@uwo.ca
Coastal city vulnerability and response to rising sea levels, examining hazard risk management strategies associated with changing climatic conditions by the private and government sectors
(McBean)
Amy Ratcliffe Amy Ratcliffe
Room 2252, SSC
aratcli@uwo.ca
The everyday geographies of recent immigrants
(Hopkins)
Jacqueline Serran Jacqueline Serran Room 2304, SSC
jserran2@uwo.ca
A watershed scale and process-based approach to estimating wetland health using GIS/remote sensing techniques
(Creed)
Bo Shan Bo Shan Room 2410, SSC
bshan3@uwo.ca
Multivariate Data Geovisualization in Knowledge Discovery
(Pazner)
Evan Cleave Christine Smith Room 3116, SSC
csmit263@uwo.ca
(Gilliland)
Evan Cleave Yang Song Room 2434, SSC
ysong24@uwo.ca
(Wang/Stooke)
Thomas Thayer Thomas Thayer Room 2410, SSC
tthayer2@uwo.ca
Understanding the Spatiality of Urban Active and Public Transportation Patterns
(Arku/Gilliland)
Germaine Tuyisenge Germaine Tuyisenge gtuyisen@uwo.ca
(Luginaah)
Kevin Vuong Kevin Vuong Room 2306, SSC
kvuong@uwo.ca
Privatization and its Spatial Impact on Accessibility of Cancer Diagnostic Services
(Mok)
Evan Cleave Carrie Warring Room 1424, SSC
cwarring@uwo.ca
(Baxter)
Evan Cleave Anna Waz Room 2308, SSC
awaz@uwo.ca
(Creed)
Evan Cleave Hannah Woods Room 1432, SSC
hwoods2@uwo.ca
(Luginaah)